Lavidacountry’s Blog



What I found in my cake icing……..

I got two cans of Betty Crocker Coconut Pecan Frosting to put on a German Chocolate Cake I made.

I decided to cook the frosting and put milk in it, since it was nearly all sugar and coconut.

I cooked the two cans of frosting. I put three egg yolks in it and milk, to thicken it.

When I spread the frosting on the cake, I found three 2 inch long pieces of weird looking chicken parts. One end looked like three little white branches of cartilage, and the other end was flat, oval and dark yellow, like a piece of chicken skin–stuck together. Picked them out of the frosting. I was grossed out.  There were three of these pieces, made up of three cartilage stalks joined to a flat dark yellow piece.

I did not see the chicken pieces inside the yolks. So were they in the frosting???

I am baffled. Whatever it is, it’s gross.

:wtf: :shrug:

I think I’m gonna barf. The cake is in the trash.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Hermetic says:

    Yikes. Could it have been coconut that didn’t get shredded? Have you ever seen the inside of a coconut? There is a brownish layer between the husk and the meat. I do hope that’s all it was. There is a toll free number on the can. I would have called them.

    Better luck next time. I like your blog by the way, and the artwork.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 2 months ago
    • * lavidacountry says:

      Uh, no. It had too many weird details and shapes, as I described, to be the inside of a coconut hull. I didn’t call them because I was so grossed out I didn’t want to think about it any more. Nor do I want to sue them.
      I’m going to make as much of my food as possible from scratch in the future. I did get over my upset stomach from the grease hitting bottom, just from tasting the icing. Nasty stuff.

      Thank you for the compliments. Some of the art is for sale.

      | Reply Posted 8 years, 2 months ago


Leave a Reply

